Sabie Classic Results

Michele du Plessis

The 2018 Sabie Classic MTB Race featured distances from a 10 km fun ride to the 80 km MTB race in the beautiful forested areas of Sabie, Mpumalanga.

“The inaugural race was held in February of 1998 and was the first race in South Africa to feature both long distance professional level marathon alongside a half marathon distance for the enthusiastic rider. The format of the race for 2018 was a one-day event with 4 distances to suit everyone from the hard-core professionals to the complete novices. Distances were 80km, 42km, 19km and 10km. The inclusion of the York Trails in 2017 was an inspired move and certainly added a level of excitement that we would like to build on. This will give the opportunity to allow many ‘regular’ mountain bikers to experience the trails now made famous by the exclusive ‘York Enduro’,” Brett Coates, Chairman: Lowveld Chaingang Cycle Club, said.

“The route had some significant changes in that it has an extra 250m climb in the first 7km, beginning before going out to the Maritzbos Hut and the infamous MaMBA Switchbacks (350m in 3,5km). Once again, it is a proper and challenging MTB route with tough climbs, 13 sections of single track, a short bush tunnel and lot of variability in terrain, surfaces and some stunning views of the valley below and numerous high waterfalls. This will prepare most riders with a good taste of mountains for the Cape Epic,” Brett Coates concluded.

First places in the 80 km MTB race:

Louis Bosch – Grand Master Men

Fiddy Gey von Pittius – Master Ladies

Paul Cannon – Master Men

Amy Beth McDougal – Senior Ladies

Simon Stiebjahn – Senior Men

Samantha Sanders – Sub vet Ladies

Urs Huber – Sub vet Men

Heila Meintjie – Veteran Ladies

Brand du Plessis – Veteran Men


First places in the 42 km MTB race:


Marlene van Heerden – Grand Master Ladies

Tim James – Grand Master Men

Zandri Strydom – Junior (F)

Rikus Booyens – Junior (M)

Shirley Emmerick – Master Ladies

Johannes van der Walt – Master Men

Angie du Randt – Senior Ladies

Dario Boavida – Senior Men

Christelle Meyer – Sub vet Ladies

Brendan Oberholzer – Sub vet Men

Rowena Alexander – Veteran Ladies

Willie Horn – Veteran Men

Natalie Strydom – Youth Female

Reinhart Viljoen – Youth Male








Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.