Health News

Veganism VS. Vegetarianism?

News Desk

Vegans and vegetarians choose not to eat meat. However, veganism is stricter and also prohibits dairy, eggs, honey, and any other items that derive from animal products, such as leather and silk.

Both veganism and vegetarianism are growing in popularity. However, some people may find the differences between these two diets a little confusing, particularly as there are several variations of vegetarianism.

According to the Vegetarian Society, vegetarians are people who do not eat the products or by-products of animal slaughter.

Vegetarians do not consume meat, such as beef, pork, and game; poultry, such as chicken, turkey, and duck; fish and shellfish; insects; rennet, gelatine, and other types of animal protein; stock or fats that derive from animal slaughter.

However, many vegetarians do consume by-products that do not involve the slaughter of animals. These include eggs, dairy products, such as milk, cheese, and yogurt and honey. Vegetarians typically consume a range of fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, grains, and pulses, as well as “meat substitutes” that derive from these food types.

Vegetarianism is generally less strict than veganism, so there are several well-known variations of the vegetarian diet. These include: Lacto-ovo-vegetarians avoid all types of meat and fish but do consume dairy products and eggs. Lacto-vegetarians do not eat any meat, fish, or eggs but do consume dairy products. Ovo-vegetarians do not eat any meat, fish, or dairy products but do consume eggs. Pescatarians avoid all meats except fish and other types of seafood.

Vegans avoid consuming or using any animal products or by-products. The Vegan Society defines veganism as “a way of living, which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of and cruelty to animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose.”

Vegans strictly avoid consuming any foods or beverages that contain: Meat, poultry, fish and shellfish, eggs, dairy products, honey, insects, rennet, gelatine, and other types of animal protein, stock or fats that derive from animals.

Strict vegans also extend these principles beyond their diet and will try, where possible, to avoid any product that directly or indirectly involves the human use of animals. These products can include leather goods, wool, silk, beeswax, soaps, candles, and other products that contain animal fats, such as tallow, latex products that contain casein, which comes from milk proteins, cosmetics or other products that manufacturers test on animals.

Information from Medical News Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *